Don’t Cry For Me Argentina Flank Steak

Don't Cry For Me Argentina Flank Steak

I’m still not 100% sure why it’s called Argentinean, but I’ll go with it!

3 Tbs red wine vinegar

2 Tbsp water

3 cloves garlic (or 1 1/2 tsp minced jarred garlic)

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp coarse black pepper

1/2 c. olive oil

1/2 c. fresh parsley

1 lb. flank steak

1 bunch scallions

The thing I like about this recipe is that it doesn’t call for a marinade and it’s super-easy to make. Seriously:

1. Whisk the first five ingredients together, then add the oil and the parsley separately and in that order.

2. Trim the ends off the scallions.

3. Season the steak with salt and pepper, the place on a hot grill. For medium rare (our preference), grill it on each side for three or four minutes. Flank steak, I should note, tastes like leather when cooked to any higher level of done.

4. Place the scallions on the grill one minute before you flip the steak (they should cook for four-five minutes).

5. Drizzle, pour, or dump the sauce over the steak. Alternately, you can use it as a dipping sauce. I poured. Enjoy.

On an unrelated note: Black swallowtail caterpillars ate almost all my parsley, so it was barely a 1/2 cup for me, but the parsley is resilient and the caterpillars are all Kafka-esque now, so I should be good to go for the next time I make this.

Leave a comment